Ode to ’84

Cocktail

Cocktail

Once upon a time, twenty five years ago really important things happened.

Coincidentally, I was also born in 1984. Now the reason I’m writing about this particularly good year, might sound quite strange, I was lying in bed this morning pondering men and wine and years. I have only ever dated one guy born in the same year as myself, and the strange thing about that, is that even though we ended up throwing things at each other, we were really on the same wavelength in terms of that weird, good vibes 80’s ness, we remembered the same music as kids, watched the same morning cartoons…

Lets just put it like this (If you were also of vintage 1984, you will so understand) when I think of my early childhood, I can smell my mom’s Chanel no 5, I see red red red nails with a pretty diamond inlay in her ring finger, a white (now ancient) BMW cabriolet, and I hear the sweet sounds of UB40, George Michael, Belinda Carlisle, Michael Jackson and Billy Ocean. And when paging through above mentioned boyfriend’s photo album, I could just see.. IT the 1984 ness of his life, and I thought we were meant to be.

Lots of other really important stuff happened in 1984, like Vanessa Williams becomes first African American Miss America, Apple Computer releases the Macintosh personal computer, the AIDS virus is discovered,  Michael Jackson wins album of the year with Thriller.

Being born in 1984, meant that you were the last real generation that begins in the 80’s because form there on, its all just Sega and Nintendo, not to say that there is anything wrong with either of those, but I’m willing to bet that a guy born in 1984 won’t take you to a movie on date, you can count on something out of Cocktail with Tom Cruise (1988).

Here’s to my quarter life mark, the first twenty five years of the cracking adventure that is my amazing life, a never ending story if you will, my favorite movie as a kid, just by the by, and also 1984.

This entry was posted in Days go by by flickery. Bookmark the permalink.

About flickery

I'm a morning person, love tea, love my dogs, fresh air and lots of space. I don't get angry very easily, but I stay angry for a long time when I do. I take everything personally, as I am a person. I like to think and listen to other people, I need to know about things. I love and wine, my friends, and food. The weirdness of me. I love shoes. Reading is good, smoking is not, but I enjoy both. I wish I was a warm summer day with thunderstorms and soft rain that makes the air cling to your skin. I like kissing, ice cream, and chilli'S. I love to play pretend, dance and sing to 80's music, and imagine I can play a sport and own a yaght. the end-ish. just a little.

Leave a Reply

