Peas in a pod

Late on Friday afternoon I pulled up to the new kid on the Block… You may have seen this stunning new structure in Argyle road, Camps Bay. I sashayed in through the Glass entrance door trailing my hand along the white grey wood panel wall, I was greeted by the smell of st Josephs Lillies, the sounds of st Germain and Micheala’s friendly smile.

Michaela showed me to my room with a view. Lovely natural colours, black slate floors, smoked glass and wood. Furnished with Flat screen TV’s (With not much to watch on the limited DSTV bouquet – although there were DVD’s available, I didn’t bother to ask) complimentary WI FI and even an iPod docking station. This boutique spot offers all the mod cons in a luxurious comfortable setting. There are also communal lounges on every floor, complete with coffee machines and board games.

Unfortunately, I could not linger to watch the Camps Bay sun sink into the Blue Atlantic from my very own Camps Bay stoep, as I had a prior engagement at the One and Only, to meet an old friend… (Where I incidentally waited about an hour, just for a whiskey)

I arrived back at the hotel, and was surprised to discover that even the access to the basement parking was controlled by my credit card like “room key” – sick.

The white linen wrapped bed with its beautiful Italian sized pillows beckoned, it had been a long week, and one glass of Moet and about a half hour of late night flat screen TV later, I was lights out. Halfway through the night, I had a run in with one of the Italians and threw him across the room… I love my own pillows, and these are so new and firm, they ended up messing with my sleep.

I woke up to the sound of the ocean, well rested (despite the pillow altercation) and quite ready for breakfast. So I started getting ready. Now I don’t know bout you, but I am not one for bathroom exhibitionism. The shower is open, separated from the rest of the bedroom by a wardrobe and a counter with a very cool basin. The toilet is enclosed in a smoked glass box, so while you are sitting on the loo you pretty much feel like a miss America Contestant in the sound proof box, while the questions are being asked, only difference is that this box is not sound proof, so this could be a deal breaker if you, like me are a bit more on the private side… the toilet lid has a cool anti slam thing though, which is quite amusing and they use super yum smelling Charlotte Rys products, which is well…super yum.

I wandered downstairs, warmly showered. The scent of fresh coffee grabbed hold of my hand and led me to breakfast, which consisted of a vast continental spread,  fresh croissants and pastries, gorgeous fruit, freshly squeezed juices and milk, and then as if that was not enough of a treat, one of the superbly trained staff members tempted me with a warm full English breakfast. How could I resist?? I had arguably one of the best cups of coffee I have had in a while, and the tempting breakfast turned out to be sublime.

The lazy, over cast morning turned into a great sunshine afternoon. The pool deck and outside entertainment area is just begging for a stunning cocktail party. We watched a glam catalogue shoot transpire and after spending the morning next to the pool and watching the model antics it was sadly time to move on and embark on the next adventure.

This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , by flickery. Bookmark the permalink.

About flickery

I'm a morning person, love tea, love my dogs, fresh air and lots of space. I don't get angry very easily, but I stay angry for a long time when I do. I take everything personally, as I am a person. I like to think and listen to other people, I need to know about things. I love and wine, my friends, and food. The weirdness of me. I love shoes. Reading is good, smoking is not, but I enjoy both. I wish I was a warm summer day with thunderstorms and soft rain that makes the air cling to your skin. I like kissing, ice cream, and chilli'S. I love to play pretend, dance and sing to 80's music, and imagine I can play a sport and own a yaght. the end-ish. just a little.

Leave a Reply

