Pulling new tricks out the bag…

On a chilly November Morning four girls spilled into a car and drove far far away to the wine lands. Not to go drink wine, but to sew…

 

 

We arrived at the Elizabeth Galloway Academy of Fashion Design to be greeted by a charming man in red shoes. I asked if I should bring a jersey or if it was warm inside and Derek answered “No need for the jersey, today you’re going to work till you’re hot” so we followed him into the building and up the stairs, and I started wondering what I’d gotten myself into.

The room had about 20 working stations set up with industrial sewing machines and here and there a steam iron and plastic water can, was suspended from the ceiling resembling a drip in a hospital.

Some of the students from the academy where there to help us, they had already cut out the material we would need to make the bags and assembled a pile of pretty ribbons that we could use to make our bags unique and more personal.

About an hour later we had all started creating our very own beach tote. I chose beige and navy for my bag, and decided that I would like a simple pleat in the front. With help from Mihke Henn, my own personal, extremely patient 3rd year student, I managed to make my very own bag.

Mihke working with my bag

The experience made me feel very handy and I am now considering buying a sewing machine to make simple slip dresses and other odds and ends.

The Elizabeth Galloway Academy offers a couple of programs for aspiring designers or fashion enthusiast to hone some new skills or create a career in Fashion.

It was a wonderful experience to create something useful from scratch and I am looking forward to another day of instruction… I’ve heard talk of pleated skirts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , by flickery. Bookmark the permalink.

About flickery

I'm a morning person, love tea, love my dogs, fresh air and lots of space. I don't get angry very easily, but I stay angry for a long time when I do. I take everything personally, as I am a person. I like to think and listen to other people, I need to know about things. I love and wine, my friends, and food. The weirdness of me. I love shoes. Reading is good, smoking is not, but I enjoy both. I wish I was a warm summer day with thunderstorms and soft rain that makes the air cling to your skin. I like kissing, ice cream, and chilli'S. I love to play pretend, dance and sing to 80's music, and imagine I can play a sport and own a yaght. the end-ish. just a little.

3 thoughts on “Pulling new tricks out the bag…

  1. Great Idea on the pleat! I am thinking of developing the pleat some more, making it deeper and padding it. It will be called the “Flickery pleated tote”. Watch this space for a pic!

Leave a Reply

